End of year blog stats

My blog site is hosted by WordPress and whilst it is not one of the most visited sites around; the WordPress end of year review of the site shows that I got 5,400 views during the last twelve months.  I haven’t been as prolific this year publishing 19 new posts and uploading 463 pictures; this is short of the 46 posts and 702 photos I made in 2012 when I started the blog.

The primary aim of the site is to get me out taking photographs of areas near where I live in the Wirral in north west England; with my other travels being posted to the secondary pages on the site.  As well as taking the photographs I like to research the story behind the images so it’s interesting to note that on the busiest day of the year which was October 31st with 209 views; the most popular section of the blog site that day was ‘About the Wirral’.

The posts that got the most views on the blog site in 2013 were:

  1.  Liverpool Anglican Cathedral posted in January 2013
  2. On Bidston Hill posted in March 2013
  3. Thingwall to Landican posted in May 2012
  4. On Four Bridges – around Birkenhead Docks posted in August 2013
  5. The ‘Friedrich Ernestine’ on the skyline at Cammel Lairds posted in September 2012

The most commented on post in 2013 was Liverpool Anglican Cathedral posted in January.

Visitors to the site came from a total of 72 countries in all.  The top five were:

  1. The United Kingdom – 3561 visitors
  2. The United States – 492 visitors
  3. Australia – 453 visitors
  4. Netherlands – 131 visitors
  5. Canada – 129 visitors

Whilst another substantial number of visitors came from mainland Europe (including 34 from Russia) the blogsite saw people from as far as Africa (South Africa, Malawi and Nigeria), Japan, China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, India, Pakistan, several of the Arab states, Turkey, Israel and seven countries in Central and South America including Brasil, Mexico and Argentina.

On 31 December it is usually the time to make New Year’s resolutions.  For 2014 I am looking to have a better work/life balance and hopefully I will make more time to take photographs and publish articles on my blog as this has been a bit of a struggle in the past twelve months.  In starting the site in 2012 I dusted down my old photographic kit and got out and about taking photos of places and events.  I’ve updated my kit in the last couple of months and I hope to get to use my new camera a lot more next year.

I will end by saying thank you to everyone who has taken the time to follow my blogs and photographs in 2013.

Best wishes for 2014.

Leave a Reply

