End of year blog stats 2014

Well it’s that time of year when WordPress supplies the blogsite’s statistics for the year just ending.  This year I have struggled with work and other pressures to get out and take photos.  During this year I have only published 16 articles and I uploaded 220 images.   I had a first when I had a month where I didn’t manage to publish a blog in October.  I’ve not used the new kit I treated myself to last year nearly as much as I would have liked.

However during the year I had a record number (for me!!) views of 8,902 with 5,370 visitors to the site.

The top six posts that got the most views on the blog site in 2014 were:

  • On Four Bridges – around Birkenhead Docks posted in August 2013
  • On Bidston Hill posted in March 2013
  • Liverpool Anglican Cathedral posted in January 2013
  • About Wirral posted when I set up the site in March 2012
  • Thingwall to Landican posted in May 2012
  • Liverpool Brazilica Carnival 2013 posted in July 2013

It is interesting that none of this year’s posts featured in the top six.  I thought the return of the Giants to Liverpool and the Viking longship the Draken Harald Hårfagre leaving Wirral in August may have featured.

Visitors to the site came from a total of 94 countries in all – another record for me.  The top six were:

  • The United Kingdom – 6266 visitors
  • The United States – 866 visitors
  • France – 278 visitors
  • Australia – 234 visitors
  • Netherlands – 191 visitors
  • Germany – 189 visitors

Whilst a substantial number of visitors came from mainland Europe the blogsite saw people from as far as Africa, South America, Pakistan and India but many smaller counties as well such as Nepal, Kazakhstan, Sudan and Myanmar.  I’m touched that people from such disparate nations find something of interest on my blogsite.  Many thanks for your support.

Well it’s customary at this point in the year to make New Year’s resolutions.  For 2015 I will make the same resolution I made last year, that is to have a better work/life balance and make more time to take photographs and publish articles on my blog.

I will end by saying thank you to everyone who has taken the time to follow my blogs and photographs in 2014.

Best wishes to you all for 2015.

Leave a Reply

